Previous Winners PDN National Paper Competition

Developing Professionals Network National Paper Competition 


The National Young Professional, now known as Professional Development, Presentation Paper Competition is where developing professionals below the age of 35 are asked to present on a topic associated with the pipeline industry. Up to five entrants are nominated by regional branches and panels and the challenge is to give a presentation on any subject pertaining to the pipeline industry (Water, Sewerage, Gas, Oil, Tunneling, Onshore, Offshore, Health and Safety, Land and Environment).


2021 Finalists:

Serena Variah - Midlands Branch - Severn Trent Water - The Hidden Treasures of the Water Network

Megan Macpherson – Wales and West Branch - Atkins - Madinah & Tabuk Master Plan

Michael Sinclair – Northern Branch-Cadent Gas - Hydrogen Powered Construction Site Trial

Daniel Mee – Scottish Branch - Cadent Gas - ‘Reduced’ depth of cover gas distribution assets

2021 Winner:

Natalie Lamb – South East Branch - QCL -  ‘Experimental Pipe Facilities: An Investigation of Chemical Free Water’

2020 Finalists:

Kathryn Thomas - Midlands Branch - DNV-GL - Microbiologically Influenced Corrosion: A move towards evidence based prevention strategies 

Aaron Dhadli - Wales & West Branch - Severn Trent - Majestic Way, Telford Distribution Mains Renewal

2020 Winner:

Sikander Mahmood - Northern Branch - Cadent -  Why Blend Hydrogen

2019 Finalists:

Lucy Whittaker - Midlands Branch - Fisher German - 'Pipeline Encroachments - Prevention is better than cure'

Paul Millard - Northern Branch - Mott Macdonald - 'Reservoir Safety'

Haseef Ahmed - South East Branch - WSP - Highways Drainage Improvement Projects'

Francieli Thums - Wales & West Branch - Wessex Water - 'Avonmouth Saline Intrusion Study'


2019 Winner: Paul Millard - Northern Branch - Mott Macdonald - 'Reservoir Safety'


(l-r)  Lucy Whittaker, Ruth Allen, Paul Millard, Laura Mann, Haseef Ahmed, Francieli Thums. 

(l-r)  Lucy Whittaker, Ruth Allen, Paul Millard, Laura Mann, Haseef Ahmed, Francieli Thums.